logo-bretagne

USA – Cape Cod

USA-Flag

Cape Cod is a cape and peninsula, the so-called “Hook” of Massachusetts that reaches out into the Atlantic Ocean in the easternmost part of the state of Massachusetts, comprising Barnstable county.
The peninsula consists of dunes and swamplands and is home to about 220 000 inhabitants. Wildlife is quite diverse, whales, turtles, seabirds and seals, to name but a few.
Several Natural preserves help protect its unique environment :

  • National Wildlife Refuge
  • Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
  • National Seashore Park (11 000 hectares)

Some areas are closed to human presence and vehicles are also prohibited.

The name “Cape Cod”, as it was first used in 1602, named by Bartholomew Gosnold, applied only to the very tip of the peninsula. It was probably first discovered by Giovanni da Verrazano who, during his first voyage in 1524 sailed past its coastline.

It is an essential part of American History as it was here that Myles Standish and the Pilgrim Fathers set foot into the New World for the first time upon their passage from England on November 11, 1620, meeting the Nauset tribe people. It became one of the first areas of settlement in New England: Barnstable (1637), Sandwich (1637) and Yarmouth (1639).

We would love to introduce you to the Cape in proximity of Boston, only hours away from New York City. The region is quite pristine; the coastline landscapes, the villages and myriads of boats are well worth a visit. We have selected what seems to be the most interesting areas for anglers and collaborate with local guides to assure great fishing.

Even though you will be in the proximity of big cities, the Cape has remained pristine and offer great angling for striped bass, bluefish and false albacore. Great White Sharks also call the waters home! The main attraction for angler are striped bass, though, as there is a very healthy population with some very big fish pushing the 50 lbs. mark. A 20 lbs. fish does not really raise an eyebrow here and is considered average.

Fishing is done with fly (streamers and poppers) or spin tackle (surface lures, plugs or soft lures). Striped bass very much behave and react like our European Seabass and often chase bait in schools. During the high season, it is not rare to hook into 15 fish or more per day, catching 20 lbs. specimen as well.

There are numerous bluefish to keep things interesting, the average 2 to 6 lbs but bruisers up to 20 lbs are not uncommon. They are a very aggressive species and will chase down lures and flies with abandon. During feeding frenzies on bait balls, catching several dozen fish is quite possible!
In late summer and especially in autumn schools of false albacore invade Cape Cod waters. They are a fly fisherman’s dream species. Although they are of modest size, about 6 lbs in the cooler waters off New England, there are some bigger fish up to 13 lbs mixed in. They say size matters, but with false albacore fly anglers need to rethink: they are an absolute blast on fly tackle and even smaller fish will show you portions of your backing you have only rarely seen.

Lodging will be had in clean and comfortable hotels in proximity to the marinas, where the guides will depart in the mornings. Rooms have all amenities with air conditioning, TV, refrigerator, water heater, bathroom with a tub, etc. Breakfast can be had at your rooms as fishing times dictate an early departure from the docks to be able to fish the good tides.
We can make arrangements for another type of lodging, for couples of families, more upscale rooms, etc… Please let us know in advance.

Upon request and in partnership with Planet Fly Fishing, I will organize tailor-made trips (6 days fishing minimum) to Cape Cod and will assist the customers as a “tour leader” for groups from 4 to 6 anglers.
From the departure in Europe, I will assist the group in matters of transfers, translation, and matters of technical advice, in collaboration with the local guides. All my accumulated knowledge of sea bass fly fishing will be at your disposal. I will help you prepare your trip; make tackle choices, flies, etc…

Fish species

Periods offered :

  • In 2017 : mid-May to mid-October.
  • In 2018 : Last week of June and first week of July.

Please also consult the trip info and rates under :

PFF2

USA – Cape Cod | Photo gallery

0

logo-bretagne

Etats-Unis – Cape Cod

USA-Flag

Le cap Cod, en anglais Cape Cod, “le cap aux morues”, est un cap ou une presqu’île sur la côte Est des États-Unis. Il se trouve dans le Sud-Est de l’État du Massachusetts, dont il constitue le comté de Barnstable.
Malgré son nom, le cap Cod constitue en réalité une péninsule de 3 382 km2 constituée de dunes et de marais habitée par plus de 220 000 habitants. Elle est contiguë au comté de Plymouth (notamment aux villes de Plymouth et Wareham).
La faune est diverse : baleines à bosse, baleines franches, tortues, oiseaux (pluvier siffleur ou piping plover) et environ 2 500 phoques qui se reproduisent sur l’île de Muskeget.
Plusieurs réserves contribuent à préserver l’écosystème :

  • le National Wildlife Refuge
  • le Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
  • le National Seashore Park (11 000 hectares)

Certains secteurs sont fermés aux touristes et à l’utilisation des véhicules tout-terrain.

C’est probablement Giovanni da Verrazano qui, lors de son premier voyage en 1524, longea les côtes de la péninsule. Un an plus tard, l’explorateur espagnol Esteban Gómez, la baptise cap Saint-Jacques. C’est en 1602 que l’Anglais Bartholomew Gosnold lui donnera son nom actuel.

Mais Cape Cod a marqué un tournant dans l’histoire américaine, car c’est sur le site de l’actuelle ville de Provincetown que Myles Standish et ses pèlerins du Mayflower abordèrent le continent le 11 novembre 1620 et furent accueillis par les Indiens de la tribu des Nausets. Dès lors, la péninsule accueillit parmi les premiers établissements européens en Nouvelle-Angleterre : Barnstable (1637), Sandwich (1637) et Yarmouth (1639).

Nous vous proposons de découvrir le Cap non loin de la ville de Boston et à quelques heures seulement de New York. Cette région très préservée est une carte postale de la côte Est avec ses magnifiques maisons, ses luxeux bateaux et ses villages très typiques. Nous avons sélectionné la partie nous paraissant la plus intéressante pour la pêche sportive.

Nous travaillons avec des guides professionnels connaissant parfaitement les coins de pêche et les techniques pour vous assurer des sorties de pêche productives ! Malgré la proximité de mégalopoles comme Boston et New York, le cap à su rester sauvage et le royaume des bars rayés et des tassergals mais aussi des grands requins blancs ! L’espèce reine est bien sur le superbe striped bass ou bar rayé. Une très forte population vit ici et certains specimens peuvent atteindre des tailles incroyables de plus de 50 lbs. Ainsi un bar de 20 lbs est considéré comme moyen par les guides !

Il se pêche soit à la mouche que ce soit au popper ou au streamer, ou au lancer avec des leurres de surface ou plongeants ainsi qu’aux leurres souples. Cette espèce réagit vraiment comme un bar de nos côtes et chasse souvent en surface. Il n’est pas rare à la bonne saison de prendre 15 poissons de plus de 20 lbs dans sa partie de pêche.

Il y a également de nombreux bluefish ou tassergals qui font de 2 à 6 lbs avec toujours la prise possible de poisson de 15 à 20 lbs. Ces poissons sont très rapides et très agressifs ! Ils s’attaquent à tous les leurres et mouches qui passent. Dans une chasse sous les oiseaux il n’est pas rare de capturer plusieurs dizaines d’individus !
En fin d’été et surtout en automne les thons albacore arrivent. Ce sont des torpilles au bout d’une canne à mouche. Leur taille moyenne est d’environ 3 kg avec des poissons de plus de 6 kg souvent présents.

Le logement s’effectue dans un hôtel propre et confortable à proximité des marinas d’où partent les guides. Les chambres sont équipées de l’air conditionné, télévision, frigo, bouilloire, salle de bain avec baignoire etc… Vous pourrez vous préparer le petit déjeuner en chambre car souvent les guides partent très tôt pour profiter de la bonne marée.
Nous pouvons vous proposer d’autres types d’hébergement pour les voyages en couple ou en famille si vous désirez plus de confort.

Sur demande, j’accompagne les clients de Planet Fly Fishing en tant que “tour-leader” pour des groupes de 4 à 6 pêcheurs.
Depuis le départ d’Europe, je gère l’intendance, les transferts, la traduction et vous assiste techniquement, en partenariat avec les guides locaux. Je mets à votre disposition toute mon expérience de la pêche à la mouche en mer.
Je vous conseille en amont lors de la préparation du voyage : choix du matériel, des mouches, etc.

Espèces recherchées

Périodes proposées :

  • En 2017 : de mi mai à mi octobre.
  • En 2018 : dernière semaine de juin et première de juillet.

Voir la fiche technique sur :

PFF2