logo-bretagne

The Jaudy & Guindy rivers

The Jaudy and the Guindy are also among those streams with a sweet spot in my heart as you can find them in close proximity to my parent’s home in Tonquédec, Côtes d’Armor. They have been my private playground and home to many experiment and apprenticeship, virtually since from day one of my fly fishing career. I know them intimately, have maintained contact, so to speak, and keep returning year after year. I can now offer their discovery to my customers who happen to spend some time in the region of Lannion in Trégor or those that have the discovery of fine fishing rivers in northern Brittany marked on their bucket list.

Caracteristics

The Jaudy (Yeodi in Breton) rises in the south of the Ménez-Bré (elevation 302 m) on the territory of the community of Louargat, at a location known as Pen-Jaudy. It empties into The Channel after a course of 44.2 km, flowing to the north for the most part. The average flow is about 1.6 m3 per second. The estuary forms at La Roche-Derrien and near Tréguier its waters mix with those of the Guindy, forming one of the prettiest abers in Brittany.
Its two main tributaries are the Théoulas, joining from the right hand side near Brélidy and the Guindy from the left hand side near Tréguier. The AAPPMA of Pontrieux manages the most interesting stretches of the Jaudy.

The Guindy is yet another coastal stream that rises at the foothills of the Menez Bré, highest elevation in Trégor. While its upper regions are quite similar to many streams on Trégor, the middle and lower sections are a lot slower. The Guindy drains a plateau separating the Leguer from the Trieux. Below Cavan, it meanders through meadowlands and harbors very pretty trout with fish in sizes over 30 cm. There are also migrating fish like salmon, lamprey and sea trout that use the stream as spawning grounds (likewise on the Jaudy), Jaudy and the Guindy forming a common estuary.
The AAPPMA of Lannion is managing the upper portion all the way to Pont Poyès, the AAPPMA of Tréguier does so on the lower reaches.

I will certainly keep the better spots to fish for myself here, to keep a certain degree of confidentiality, but I will gladly guide you there, should the need arise.
What I can tell you is the size of both streams: the Guindy is somewhat narrower in its fly fishing section than the Jaudy (3-to 4 meters versus 5 to 6 meters wide), yet both are populated by wild trout, sometimes in respectable sizes (40 cm). The bigger fish are mostly found in the slower sections that require a stealthy approach and specific fishing strategies. Stalking makes perfect sense here. Both streams can be fished while wading or from the bank, depending on the situation, with either short rods (7’0” to 8’0”) or longer rods as well (9’6” à 10’0”). There is also good fly fishing in faster water with freestone bottom (especially on the Jaudy) where fishing the rises or entire drifts can be particularly thrilling. Both streams have either rocky of silty bottoms with a healthy population of aquatic insects such as trichoptera and ephemeroptera with, oftentimes, great Danica mayfly hatches. Terrestrial insects play a major role in wooded sections as well.

I will take you there from May to the end of the season. Spring will be most favorable for good fishing, though, while the heat of summer dictates fishing during the early morning (dawn) and late evening (sunset) hours.

The Jaudy & Guindy rivers | Photo gallery

0

logo-bretagne

Le Jaudy et le Guindy

Le Jaudy et le Guindy font partie de ces cours d’eau chers à mon cœur, car ils coulent non loin de chez mes parents, à Tonquédec, dans les Côtes d’Armor et ont été de fabuleux terrains de jeu, d’expérimentation et de perfectionnement lors de la première décennie de ma carrière de pêcheur à la mouche. Je les connais bien et ai entretenu cette connaissance au fil des années. J’y retourne tous les ans et propose leur découverte à mes clients séjournant dans le Trégor lannionais ou à ceux qui prévoient la découverte de la plupart des meilleurs cours d’eau de Bretagne Nord.

Jaudy & Guindy (Côtes d’Armor)

Caractéristiques

Le Jaudy (en breton Yeodi) prend sa source au sud du Ménez-Bré (302 m d’altitude) sur la commune de Louargat, au lieu-dit Pen-Jaudy. Il se jette dans la Manche après une course d’une longueur de 44,2 km orientée sud-nord. Le débit moyen annuel du Jaudy est de 1,6 m3/seconde. À La Roche-Derrien commence l’estuaire et à Tréguier ses eaux se mêlent à celles du Guindy pour former l’un des plus beaux abers de Bretagne.
Ses deux principaux affluents sont le Théoulas en rive droite à Brélidy et le Guindy en rive gauche à Tréguier.
L’AAPPMA de Pontrieux gère la partie la plus intéressante du Jaudy.

Le Guindy est un petit fleuve côtier. Il prend sa source au pied du Menez Bré, point culminant du Trégor. Si la partie haute ne se distingue pas des autres cours d’eau trégorois, en revanche, la partie médiane et la partie basse sont beaucoup plus lentes. Le Guindy coule sur un plateau séparant le Léguer du Trieux. En aval de Cavan, il serpente dans les prairies. Les truites y sont belles et il n’est pas rare de séduire des poissons mesurant plus de 30 cm. Quelques saumons, lamproies et truite de mer viennent également y frayer tous les ans (idem sur le Jaudy). Le Guindy a un estuaire commun avec le Jaudy. L’AAPPMA de Lannion gère la partie haute jusqu’à Pont Poyès. L’AAPPMA de Tréguier prend le relais en aval.

Je ne donnerai ici pas plus de détail sur les meilleurs secteurs afin de préserver une certaine confidentialité à mes coins de pêche et de guidage.
Ce que je peux dire est que le Jaudy, comme le Guindy dont les dimensions sont nettement inférieures (5/6 mètres de large en moyenne sur la partie “mouchable” pour le Jaudy, contre 3/4 pour le Guindy) sont des rivières riches en truites sauvages, parfois de très belle taille (40 cm possible). Les beaux poissons fréquentent plutôt les secteurs d’eau lente, ce qui impose une approche adaptée et des stratégies de pêche spécifiques. Faire le héron ou pratiquer une pêche “à l’indienne” prend ici tout son sens. Ces deux rivières se pêchent alternativement en wading ou depuis la rive (selon les cas) avec des cannes courtes (7’0” à 8’0”) ou plus longues (9’6” à 10’0”). Mais il y aussi de très beaux parcours d’eaux vives à fond rocheux (surtout sur le Jaudy) sur lesquels la pêche des postes ou des gobages s’avère passionnante. Ce sont des rivières sablo-limoneuses riches en insectes aquatiques tels que trichoptères, éphémères avec, le plus souvent, de belles éclosions du grand éphémère (Ephemera danica). Les insectes terrestres jouent un rôle prépondérant dans le régime alimentaire des truites sur ces cours d’eau boisés.

Je vous fais découvrir ces deux joyaux méconnus de mai à la fermeture, le printemps étant plus favorable à la pêche de journée, le cœur de l’été imposant ensuite les coups du matin, à l’aube, et les coups du soir.

Pêche à la mouche du Jaudy et Guindy | Brittany Fly Fishing

Le Jaudy et le Guindy | Galerie Photos