logo-bretagne

The river Hyères

Caracteristics

The Hyères rises in the Côtes d’Armor, among the communities of Callac and La Chapelle Neuve, and is one of the main tributaries of the River Aulne, entering from the right side. After a course of 25 km, it enters Finistère above Carnoët, uniting with the waters of the canalized Aulne (that joins Nantes with Brest) upcurrent of Carhaix. The overall length of the river is 48 km. The Hyères is managed by the AAPPMA of Callac (the “ world capital ” of the Brittany Spaniel) on its costarmorican portion and by the AAPPMA of Carhaix on the finisterian portion.

The Hyères in one of those rivers that have a particular sweet spot in my heart as it seems unspectacular yet can yield some very nice surprises. I will not divulge the better river sections and the sizes of fish to people other than my friends and customers.

What I can tell, however, is that the Hyères is a pretty stream flowing through meadowlands and wooded areas. Its average width is between 5 and 6 meters, with a sandy, sometimes muddy, river bottom. There are nice riffles and runs interspersed with some nice, deep pools, haunted by the better trout in the stream. Banks are well maintained by the roots of superb alders. Many relevant families of aquatic insect are present: ephemeroptera and trichoptera abound but it’s the Danica mayflies that create massive hatches in early summer, possibly the most impressive hatches of the sort I have had the privilege of witnessing in Brittany.

Fishing is done by slowly wading the riverbed, mostly presenting dry flies on a short line with short rods (7’6” à 8’6”) with a nervous yet powerful action (4 to 5 weight rods) to be able to quickly play bigger fish that inevitably will surge for cover, once hooked. Cover will be plenty in this great stream: submerged stumps, roots, sweepers,…

It will be a pleasure for me to guide you on this unsung river, from May to the late season, spring being the better period to fish all day long. During the height of summer, anglers fare better in the mornings and during the wee hours in the evenings. Mayfly season, from late May to early June, must not be missed and requires an early reservation if you happen to need guiding in this fine water.

The river Hyères | Photo gallery

0

logo-bretagne

L’Hyères

Pêche à la mouche sur l’Hyeres | Brittany Fly Fishing

Caractéristiques

L’Hyères qui prend sa source dans les Côtes d’Armor, entre les communes de Callac et de la Chapelle Neuve, est un des principaux affluents de l’Aulne, qu’il rejoint en rive gauche.
Après un parcours de 25 km, elle entre dans le Finistère en aval de Carnoët pour rejoindre l’Aulne canalisée (Le canal de Nantes à Brest) en aval de Carhaix. La longueur totale de son cours est de 48 km.
Elle est gérée par l’AAPPMA de Callac (capitale “mondiale” de l’Epagneul breton) sur sa partie costarmoricaine, celle de Carhaix pour la partie finistérienne.

L’Hyères fait partie de ces rivières que j’affectionne particulièrement parce qu’elle ne paye pas de mine mais réserve souvent de très belles surprises. Je garde le détail des secteurs que je fréquente et des tailles des truites qu’on y capture pour moi et mes clients.

Ce que je peux dévoiler est que l’Hyères est une jolie rivière coulant au cœur de prairies et de bosquets. Sa largeur moyenne est de l’ordre de 5 à 6 mètres, les fonds sont sablo-limoneux, parfois très limoneux. Elle présente une alternance de jolis courants, de superbes lisses et de pools parfois profonds, repaires des plus belles truites. Ses berges sont le plus souvent bien maintenues par les racines de superbes aulnes. Riche en insectes aquatiques tels que trichoptères et éphémères, l’Hyères est le théâtre des émergences de mouches de mai (Ephemera danica) les plus massives que j’ai pu observer en Bretagne.

La pêche se pratique en wading, en progressant lentement dans le lit du cours d’eau. On opère le plus souvent en mouche sèche, à courte distance, à l’aide de cannes pas trop longues (7’6” à 8’6”) mais suffisamment nerveuses et puissantes (4/5) pour sortir vainqueur du combat avec un gros poisson, qui cherchera inévitablement à rejoindre sa cache, souche immergée, racines, branches noyées, etc.

Je vous fais découvrir ce joyau méconnu de mai à la fermeture, le printemps étant plus favorable à la pêche de journée, le cœur de l’été imposant ensuite les coups du matin, à l’aube, et les coups du soir. La période de la mouche de mai, fin mai début juin, est évidemment à ne pas manquer et nécessite d’anticiper la réservation de ma prestation de guidage.

Peche-Riviere-Hyeres-Brittany-Fly-Fishing-1

L’Hyères | Galerie Photos