logo-bretagne

Bahamas – Deadman’s Cay

Bahamas-Flag

With about 20.000 hectares of fishable flats, the Bahamas islands are just about the largest bonefishing grounds in the world. These awesome fish, usually larger on average than in other destinations, are for the most part very well fed, which implies an intact and rich ecosystem they are living in: mangrove flats. These flats are irrigated and seeded by the rich waters of the Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic Ocean that flushes the shores of some 700 islands and 2400 cays, fly fishing possibilities are endless! Other than the islands of New Providence with the nation’s capital Nassau and Grand Bahama Island, the so-called outer islands are sparsely populated.

I have had the privilege of fishing many times in the Bahamas where I was able to see most of the nicer places and fishing lodges, specialized in bonefishing: Abaco, Grand-Bahama, Exuma, Bimini, Eleuthera, Andros and Long Island.
Furthermore, I have put together the “Bonefish Paradise” brochure for the Bahamian Office of Tourism, downloadable right here.
It includes all sorts of pertinent information about bonefishing in the magnificent Bahamas, illustrated with many pictures (in french language).

I will show you the fabulous areas around Deadman’s Cay (and others) on Long Island, certainly among the nicest in the islands.

Locksley, our outstanding local guide, and his associates know the waters and flats like the back of their hands and have eagle eyes when it comes to spot fish. Depending on the tides, they will take you to the flats of Thompson Bay, White Sound, Channel Cay, Upper Channel Cay, Sandy Cay, etc. You should also visit the blue holes, underwater craters that harbor tarpon. Other fish species also abound: barracuda, snapper and permit can be found every day.

Non-angling companions are most welcome as there are numerous interesting activities to be had: sea kayaking, biking, diving, hikes, etc… Pierre’s cuisine, with a quebecois touch, is turning out culinary masterpieces that make it very hard to leave this paradise.

I will tailor your personal stay (6 days fishing minimum) and accompany you as a tour guide for 2 to 4 anglers. I will be in charge of the group from the departure in Europe to your return, will assist and help wherever help is needed, also from a technical point of view together with our local fishing guide Locksley and Pierre, the lodge owner. My entire knowledge about bonefishing is going to be at your disposal (which is among my favorite specialties) and will help you up front to properly prepare your trip: tackle selection, flies, etc…

Fish species

Periods :

  • In 2021 : late November/early December
  • In 2022 : mid-March to late April

Also see the following trip information brochure :

Bahamas | Photo gallery

0

logo-bretagne

BAHAMAS – DEADMAN’S CAY

Bahamas-Flag

Avec près de 20.000 hectares de flats, l’archipel des Bahamas constitue le plus vaste domaine de pêche au bonefish du globe. Les poissons, superbes, de taille supérieure à la moyenne, jouissent de la profusion alimentaire d’un des milieux naturels les plus riches de notre planète : les flats à mangroves, quotidiennement irrigués et ensemencés par les eaux riches des eaux de l’Atlantique et du Golfe du Mexique qui s’immiscent à travers 700 îles et 2400 îlots. Les possibilités de pêche à la mouche y sont infinies. En dehors de New Providence et sa capitale Nassau et de Grand Bahama Island, son prolongement, les îles extérieures, les “out-islands”, sont faiblement peuplées.

J’ai beaucoup pêché aux Bahamas dont j’ai découvert et expérimenté la plupart des îles et leurs lodges de pêche spécialisés dans la pêche du bonefish : Abaco, Grand Bahama, Exuma, Bimini, Eleuthera, Andros et Long Island.
J’ai d’ailleurs réalisé la brochure “Bonefish Paradise” pour l’Office du Tourisme des Bahamas, que vous pouvez télécharger ici. Vous y trouverez toutes les informations concernant la pêche du bonefish à la mouche dans ce merveilleux archipel des Caraïbes, agrémentées de nombreuses photos.

Je vous propose la découverte des fabuleux territoires de pêche de Long Island, spécialement celle des flats des environs de Deadman’s Cay, parmi les plus beaux des Bahamas.

Locksley, l’excellent guide local, et ses associés connaissent la zone de pêche par cœur et possèdent une acuité visuelle hors du commun. En fonction de la marée, ils peuvent vous mener sur les flats de Thompson Bay, White Sound, Channel Cay, Upper Channel Cay, Sandy Cay, etc. A découvrir également, les blue holes, ces cratères sous-marins où stationnent les tarpons. Barracudas, snappers et permits sont également au programme.

Les accompagnants non-pêcheurs sont les bienvenus car de nombreuses activités touristiques sont à leur disposition (kayak de mer, vélo, plongée, balades, etc.). Les petits plats de Pierre, votre hôte québécois, véritables chefs-d’œuvre culinaires, ne font qu’accentuer les regrets quand il faut quitter ce coin de paradis.

En partenariat avec Planet Fly Fishing, j’y organise des séjours “sur mesure” (6 jours de pêche minimum) en tant que “tour-leader” et guide pour des groupes de 2 à 4 pêcheurs. Depuis le départ d’Europe, je gère l’intendance, la traduction et vous assiste techniquement, en partenariat avec Locksley, le guide local, et Pierre, le patron du lodge. Je mets à votre disposition toute mon expérience de la pêche du bonefish à la mouche, une de mes pêches préférées et spécialités et vous conseille en amont lors de la préparation du voyage : choix du matériel, des mouches, etc.

Espèces recherchées

Périodes proposées :

  • En 2017 : fin Novembre/début décembre
  • En 2018 : mi-mars à fin avril

Voir la fiche technique sur :

PFF2