logo-bretagne

Germany – The Trauns

Allemagne-Flag

The German Trauns, located in southern Bavaria (upper Bavaria) about 30 km from the Austrian Border, rise in the foothills of the Alps. The German Traun (Deutsche Traun), a tributary of the Alz, which in turn is a tributary of the mighty Inn River, is formed at the junction of the White Traun (Weiße Traun) and the Red Traun (Rote Traun). Both streams have earned their names by the color of their waters: the former has crystal clear waters as it rises in a forested area and flows through a pristine lake, while the latter has reddish-brown waters and rises from moorlands. There are 45 km from the source of the White Traun to the confluence with the Inn River.

  • The Weiße Traun, typical pre-alpine stream with gin-clear waters, is some 20 meters wide on average. It is home to brown trout, a few grayling as well as medium-sized rainbow trout, 25 to 40 cm. Bigger fish up to 55 cm are also present and the angling stretch is about 5 km long.
  • The Rote Traun is a smaller stream, 10 to 12 meters wide but harbors a very healthy population of brown trout and some very nice grayling in lengths up to 50 cm. Our stretch measures 5 km in length.
  • The Deutsche Traun, formed by the junction of the two is a larger river, about 25 to 30 meters wide. It has alternating features with gravel bottom, pools, deeper holes, rocky portions where bigger fish can hide out. The trout, rainbows and browns, measure on average between 35 and 45 cm with bigger fish up to and beyond 50 cm/4 lbs hooked regularly. Some of the rainbows grow up to and exceed 70 cm in length. Certain trophy grayling reach lengths up to 60 cm, too!! We have access to two different stretches, Hochberg and Traunstein, that both measure about 2,5 km in length.

All the fishing stretches are managed privately and there will be no more than 4 to 6 anglers allowed per day.
The four river sections of the Trauns give access to outstanding rainbow trout fishing with some good brown trout thrown in. Best methods for success are dry fly fishing and nymph fishing (sight fishing and drift fishing).
We also have the possibility to fish a day on the Forchensee, about 4 hectares in size and fed by the Weiße Traun. Its waters are incredibly clear and harbor numerous brook trout, rainbow and brown trout, great to sight fish for.

Needless to say that only fly fishing using fly tackle is allowed here.

Lodging will be in a comfortable hotel in the typical village of Siegsdorf in close proximity to the rivers. This establishment has been welcoming anglers for many years and will cater to an angler’s special schedule. Food is excellent, very rich and the menus will make choices hard.

In partnership with Planet Fly Fishing I will organize guided stays (for groups of up to 3 anglers maximum) on the German Trauns, that I know quite well. I will pick you up on site (or at Munich Airport), will assist you in every way, will translate and guide you on the waters, with technical strategic advice.

Fish species

Periods offered in 2017 :

  • Mid-June to mid-July & mi-September to mid-October

For further information please consult: :

PFF2

logo-bretagne

Allemagne – Les Trauns

Allemagne-Flag

Les Trauns allemandes, situées dans le Sud de la Bavière (Oberbayern), à moins de 30 km de la frontière autrichienne de Piding, naissent des contreforts des Alpes. La Traun allemande, ou Deutsche Traun, qui est un affluent de l’Alz, rejoignant elle-même l’Inn, résulte de la réunion de la fameuse Traun Blanche (Weiße Traun) et de son affluent la Traun Rouge (Rote Traun). Ces deux cours d’eau ont été nommés en raison de la couleur de leurs eaux, la première qui présente des eaux translucides, prend sa source dans des zones boisées, tandis que la rouge avec ses eaux brunes, prend sa source dans des tourbières. 45 km séparent la source de la Traun Blanche et la confluence avec l’Inn.

  •  La Weiße Traun, typique rivière alpine aux eaux claires, est large d’un vingtaine de mètres en moyenne. Elle abrite une population de farios, quelques ombres, et des arcs de taille moyenne, 25 à 40 cm, avec des spécimens jusqu’à 55 cm. Le parcours mesure 5 km.
  •  La Rote Traun est un plus petit cours d’eau, 10/12 mètres de large, qui abrite toutefois une belle population de farios et quelques très beaux ombres, jusqu’à 50 cm. Notre parcours est long de 5 km.
  •  La Deutsche Traun, réunion des deux précédentes, est une plus vaste rivière, dont la largeur moyenne varie entre 25 et 30 mètres. Son profil est varié, avec une alternance de gravières, de pools, de fosses, d’enrochements, repaires des plus beaux poissons. La taille moyenne des truites, fario et arc-en-ciel est de l’ordre de 35 et 45 cm, mais les poissons de plus de 50 cm et pesant environ 2 kg sont régulièrement “touchés”. Certaines arc-en-ciel peuvent parfois atteindre plus de 70 cm. A noter également la présence de très beaux ombres, dont certains atteignent les dimensions trophées de 60 cm !! Deux parcours sont accessibles, Hochberg et Traunstein, d’une longueur respective de 2,5 km.

Ces parcours sont gérés de manière totalement privative et la pression de pêche journalière limitée de 4 à 6 pêcheurs.
Les quatre principaux secteurs proposés permettent de pêcher de nombreuses truites arc-en-ciel mais également des farios. Les méthodes les plus efficaces sont la pêche à la mouche sèche, à la nymphe, à vue et “au fil”.
Il est également possible de pêcher une journée sur le Forchensee, le lac de 4 hectares donnant naissance à la Weiße Traun. Ses eaux d’une surprenante transparence permettent une pêche à vue de qualité de très beaux ombles de fontaine, de farios et d’arcs.

Seule la pêche à la mouche fouettée est autorisée sur ces parcours.

Vous serez logé dans un hôtel confortable situé dans le village de Siegsdorf à proximité des différents parcours. Cet établissement accueille des pêcheurs depuis de nombreuses années et sait s’adapter au rythme de la pêche. La nourriture est de qualité, copieuse et la carte bien fournie.

En partenariat avec Planet Fly Fishing, j’organise des séjours guidés sur les Trauns allemandes que je connais bien, par groupe de 3 pêcheurs maximum.
Je vous accueille sur place (ou aéroport de Munich), gère l’intendance, la traduction et vous guide (perfectionnement) sur les différents parcours, vous apportant un soutien technique et stratégique.

Espèces recherchées

Périodes proposées en 2017 :

  • Juin-juillet & mi-septembre à mi-octobre 2017

Voir la fiche technique sur :

PFF2